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Disclosure of Information to Potential Buyers 
 

California 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Buyer may rescind purchase offer within 3 days of 
receipt or if received after signing of offer you may rescind within the prescribed time. Cal. Civ. 
Code § 1102.6 (West). 

Colorado 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Buyer could have a claim for damages against the seller 
if not given disclosure form. Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 38-35.7-102 (West). 
 

Connecticut 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must be given to potential purchaser before they enter 
into a contract to buy. Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 20-327b (West). 

Delaware 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Buyer may cancel purchase contract within 15 days of 
receiving disclosure statement. Del. Code Ann. tit. 25, § 81-408 (West). 

Florida: 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 720.401 (West). 

Georgia 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Buyer can void the contract up to 7 days after receiving 
documentation. Ga. Code Ann. § 44-3-111 (West). 

Hawaii 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Buyer must receive documents no later than 10 days 
after seller has accepted offer, once the documents have been received buyer has 15 days to revoke 
offer. Haw. Rev. Stat. § 508D-5 (West). 

Idaho 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Buyer must receive documents no later than 10 days 
after seller has accepted their offer. Idaho Code Ann. § 55-2509 (West). 

Illinois 

• Proposed Legislation. 765 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 77/20. 
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Indiana: 
• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must provide documentation no later than 10 days 

before closing. No more than $250 can be charged for reproduction costs. Ind. Code Ann. § 32-21-
5-8.5 (West). 

 
Louisiana: 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must provide documentation before offer is placed by 
potential purchaser. La. Rev. Stat. Ann. 9:3198. La. Rev. Stat. Ann. 33:9039.35 

Maryland: 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must provide documentation no later than 5 days before 
closing. Md. Code Ann., Real Prop. § 11B-105 (West). 

Maine 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must be delivered to the buyer before they make an 
offer. If not received before offer is made the buyer has 72 hours to rescind offer. Me. Rev. Stat. 
tit. 33, § 174. 

Michigan 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must be delivered before execution of the contract. If 
any changes are made, then the buyer has either 72 or 120 hours to rescind depending on mode of 
delivery. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 565.957 (West). 

Minnesota  

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must be delivered at least 10 days before execution of 
the agreement. If delivered later, buyer has 10 days after receipt of documents to rescind offer. 
Minn. Stat. Ann. § 515B.4-1021 (West). 

Mississippi 

• Disclosure statement required. Miss. Code. Ann. § 89-1-501 (West). 

Nebraska 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must be delivered on or before the day of execution. 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-2,120 (amended by 2015 Nebraska Laws L.B. 34). 

Nevada 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must be delivered at least ten days prior to conveyance 
of property. Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 113.130 (West). 

New Mexico: 
• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must provide documentation no later than 7 days before 

closing. N.M. Stat. Ann. § 47-16-11 (West). 
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New York 

• Proposed legislation. N.Y. Real Prop. Law § 462 (McKinney). 

North Carolina 

• Responsibility is on agent to tell client of their rights, responsibility of disclosure is on seller. Buyer 
may cancel an offer if the disclosure statement is not given to them before or at the time of their 
offer. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 47E-5 (West). 
 

Ohio 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 5302.30 (West). 

Oklahoma 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must deliver the documents before an offer has been 
made. Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 60, § 834 (West). 

Oregon 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. The buyer may a right to revoke offer depending on 
the particular circumstances. Or. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 105.475 (West). 

Pennsylvania 

• Proposed legislation. 68 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 7304 (West). 

Rhode Island 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 5-20.8-2 (West). 

South Carolina 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. “Must” deliver documents before a contract is signed, 
however there do not seem to be any consequences. S.C. Code Ann. § 27-50-50. 

South Dakota 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must be delivered prior to the buyer making an offer. 
S.D. Codified Laws § 43-4-44. 

Tennessee 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must deliver prior to execution of contract, no 
revocation remedy. Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-5-203 (West). 

Texas 

• Proposed Legislation. Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 5.008 (West). 
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Virginia: 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Va. Code Ann. § 55-509.4 (West). 

Washington 

• Responsibility of disclosure is on the seller. Must deliver to buyer five days after a purchase 
agreement has been reached. Upon receipt buyer can accept or rescind offer. Wash. Rev. Code Ann. 
§ 64.06.030 (West). 


